Girl of the Week: Mandy Gonzalez


Mandy Gonzalez is a Broadway actress recently appointed as the new Elphaba for the smashing-hit musical Wicked.

Mandy was playing the role of Nina Rosario in the 2008 Tony Award winning musical In The Heights at the Richard Rodgers Theater. A role she created in the Off-Broadway production for which she received a Drama Desk Award.

Mandy made her Broadway debut as Princess Amneris in the Tim Rice/Elton John musical AIDA. She appeared in the musical Lennon, based on the life of John Lennon and Yoko Ono, and she also starred opposite Michael Crawford as Sarah in Dance of the Vampires.

Mandy is perhaps best known for her OBIE Award-winning performance in the Off-Broadway production of Eli’s Comin’, the musical based on the lyrics and music of songwriter Laura Nyro.

In 2007 she starred as Lucy in the Korean tour of Jekyll and Hyde:the concert. Workshops include In the Heights dir. Tommy Kail, Duncan Sheik/Steven Sater’s The Nightingale, Wicked dir. Joe Mantello, The Color Purple dir. Gary Griffin, Best Little Whorehose in Texas dir. Joe Mantello, Beehive on Broadway dir. Debbie Allen, When You Wish dir. Tina Landau and Warm dir. Scott Schwartz.

Mandy can be seen in Julie Taymor’s upcoming Across the Universe, In God’s Hands, NBC’s Third Watch, and Guiding Light. She can be heard on the film soundtracks of Mulan 2 and Urban Legend.

As from March 23rd, Mandy can be seen at the Gershwin Theatre playing the role of Elphaba in the musical Wicked.

2 thoughts on “Girl of the Week: Mandy Gonzalez

  1. I am wicked lover 101’s cousin and you can’t leave wicked! You rock! I am one of your biggest fans and it made me almost cry when I found out u were leaving! I want to meet u so bad! When I went into the city I saw Gershwin Theater right in front of me but I didn’t go in! I will miss watching u so bad!

  2. -Mandy
    I love you more than any other actress or singer! I want to keep seeing your concerts even though you’re leaving Wicked! I don’t want u to leave? I am singing one of wicked’s songs for a play audition! You deserve more than a pop star!

Leave a Reply

