Interview of the Month: Nicolas Dromard


Today, we are glad to bring you the first exclusive interview of  Broadway is Wicked. We had the chance to speak to the amazing performer who portrays cavalier Fiyero , every night, in the San Francisco production of Wicked: Nicolas Dromard.

Brodway is Wicked (BW): Who is really Nicolas Dromard?

Nicolas Dromard (ND) : I was born and raised in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. I’ve been dancing since I was six, and singing since i was 9. I’ve always loved dancing and that’s how I got into this business.

BW: When did you know that your career was going to be acting?

ND: It never really hit me like some people. I never woke up and said “I’m going to be on Broadway!” It sort of just happened that way, and I’m so thankful that I’ve been so lucky and fortunate to be where I am today.

BW: How did you feel the first time you performed in front of an audience?

ND: I felt amazing! The first time I danced for an audience I was six years old, and I barely remember the thrill of being onstage.  But it was there!

BW: How did the role of Fiyero come about for you?

ND: Iunderstudied the role on tour for a year and a half, and after having the left tour for a couple of years, they called me in to audition for the role. And I got it. My agent called me on my birthday to wish me a happy birthday Fiyero. That’s how he told me.

BW: How would you describe Fiyero?

ND: Well, he is genuinely self absorbed and deeply…. shallow. Well not really. That’s a mask that he puts on to hide his true self, but Elphaba sees him and that makes him uncomfortable.

BW: Do you have a favorite moment in Wicked? A favorite song?

ND: For obvious reasons, As Long As You’re Mine! I also love No Good Deed.

BW: Why do you think the show has been so successful?

ND: Because it connects to so many people in the world. The story touches people in so many ways and so many different people all over the world. We are all familiar with the Wizard of Oz, and on top of that there are so many great messages in Wicked that people just love.

BW: You come from other big productions such as Mamma Mia!, Mary Poppins and Hairspray. What was that experience like for you? How are they different from Wicked?

ND: Fiyero is my first principal role, so that’s one of the differences. But all the other shows I’ve done have been an incredible experience that I’ve loved doing.

BW: Do you have any dream roles?

ND: Bobby Child in Crazy for You, Mark in Rent, Jamie in The Last Five Years.

BW: What are your goals in life?

ND: Just to keep going and be as successful as I can. I would also love a Tony award. That’s on my To Do List.

BW: Which do you think are the key things to succeed in Broadway?

ND: To be open to everything, to learn all that there is, to keep an open mind and to adapt to things. It’s hard to just pin point the key things. Always keep a positive attitude and always be nice to your neighbour. You never know who’s going to be the next director or choreographer to hire you. it could be the person next to you in an audition or on the subway.

BW: Which what do you feel more identify with? Why? – Acting, singing or dancing?

ND: All of them. But my favourite is dancing.

BW: What would say to upcoming performers?

ND: Train train train! Learn everything that you can when you are young. It gets harder when you’re older and have more responsibilities.

THANK YOU NICOLAS!!!!!

One thought on “Interview of the Month: Nicolas Dromard

  1. Pingback: Nicolas Dromard Online » Broadway is Wicked interview.

Leave a Reply

