Girl of the Week: Mariand Torres


Mariand Torres is the current Standby for the role of Elphaba in the First National Tour of Wicked. She was seen at NYMF  in the staged reading of Cutman: The Boxing Musical. Other credits include Mona in The People Vs. Mona (Abingdon Theatre,), My Way: A Musical Tribute to Frank Sinatra, Violet, andFalsettos. BM in Musical Theatre, University of Miami. AEA member. Workshops: Like Water for Chocolate (Sundance Theatre lab), Tina Girlstar (NY Stage & Film) and Harold’s Harem (LAByrinth Theatre Company).

11 thoughts on “Girl of the Week: Mariand Torres

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Girl of the Week: Mariand Torres « Broadway is Wicked -- Topsy.com

  2. We just saw Wicked last in Dallas and Mariand was awesome. This young lady has a voice that can bring the house down and just about did. Super job!

  3. Saw Wicked on Friday night. Mariand Torres was amazing. I can’t believe she is the understudy. She is phenomenal!!!

  4. wow i saw wicked for the second time saturday and fair park in dallas!
    Mariand you are AMAZING!
    fabulous job

  5. I’ve seen her three times in Dallas so far, she is AMAZING. She may be my favorite Elphaba now, no joke. I saw her the first time, and then the last two I kept hoping I’d see her again and I was sooo stoked when I did!

  6. Saw Mariand July 4 in Houston. Didn’t think anyone could come close to Idina- she certainly proved me wrong.The ENTIRE CAST was amazing!
    Go to the video of “Too Pretty” on youtube to seeeven more of herRAW talent!

  7. Pingback: frqqzeqj

  8. I just seen Wicked yesterday in Chicago and she did a fantastic job. The entire cast did a great job, but she was just amazing. Her voice was out of this world. She will not be a standby for long!

    • That’s awesome Jo! Mariand is great and blessed with much talent! I would expect her to jump into the official role, wherever, soon.

  9. She’s phenomenal! I’m experiencing Wicked right now in Atlanta. Mariand sounds very much like Edina – what a voice!

Leave a Reply

