Bert Newton Feeling ‘Great’ After Leaving Hospital


Our dearest Wizard of Oz in the Australian production of Wicked has safely left the hospital yesterday, according to Melbourne Herald.

Australian TV legend Bert Newton is feeling “great” after doctors discharged him from hospital following a bout of pneumonia this month (Jun11). Bert Newton was taken into the intensive care unit at Melbourne’s Epworth Hospital on 16 June (11) after reportedly contracting the infection from his infant granddaughter, but he was released on Sunday (26Jun11).

The hospitalisation meant the 72 year old had to temporarily drop out of his role in stage show Wicked in Perth, but he is now looking forward to rejoining the cast.

He told Melbourne’s Herald Sun, “I feel great, it’s nice to be back under normal circumstances. It came as a bit of a shock, but so long as I do my best, the doctors tell me (to) do exactly what they say, and I’ll be back on stage very very soon.”

Newton admits the health scare is a “wake up call”, but he is adamant he won’t be considering retirement, adding, “It’s the old story. What I do, I don’t see as a job, I see it as something I love doing and it’s a very important part of my life.”

via contactmusic

Leave a Reply

